Shoulder1.com: Great Information, Real Community, Better Living.
 Register
 Login
 Main Page
 Shoulder News
Feature Story
Shoulder Technology
Real Life Recoveries
 Education Center
Conditions
Procedures
 Shoulder  Hero™
Dr. Evan Flatow:
Innovating Shoulder Surgery
About Heroes
 Join the Discussion in  Our Forums
 Community
Shoulder1 Forums
Patient Stories
Shoulder Journals
 Reference
Ask an Expert
FAQ's
Locate a Doctor
Reference Library
Anatomy
Video Library
 Bookmark Us

advertisement
Search the Body1 Network
May 26, 2020  
FORUMS: Read-Only

>
Topic Title: Had Rotator Cuff Tear Surgery
Created On: 04/07/2010 06:28 PM

11/30/2014 11:45 AM

Author Icon
sunnie12

<p>I am scheduled for rotator cuff surgery in a few days. Will have cold therapy for home use and right arm will have to be immobilized for 6 weeks. For those of you who have had the surgery...any recovery tips? </p>
 07/09/2010 02:59 PM

Author Icon
ldbaxte

Hi, I'm new to this. I tore my cuff 9 years ago and had Open reduction internal fixation - basically they pinned the part of the bone that the cuff is attached to back to my arm. After a few months and plenty of physio the movement still wasn't cracking so they did a MUA which gave me slightly more movement. Since then I have never been able to move my shoulder above about 100 degrees but it only really hurt at night and I've been able to workout with it to quite a good standard but it's just started grinding when I work out and causing me pain. Today when I went I started getting a horrible pain from my shoulder down to my elbow and when I tried to do some cardio instead it just felt worse. Do you think this pain is related and do you think I need to see a doctor? Usually when I get pain it disipates but this time it is not calming down at all.
 05/13/2010 01:20 AM

Author Icon
cruderman