Topic Title: labral tear recovery
Created On: 05/21/2005 08:35 AM

Pages: [ 1 2 >> Next ]
View topic in raw text format.

Bookmark and Share

05/21/2005 08:36 AM

Author Icon
regina2780

I tore the anterior glenoid labrum of my right shoulder in march 2004 in a car accident. i have been in PT 2x/week since, have tried a cotisone shot, and have been on "light duty" since. I have finally decided on surgery this wed. I feel like the tear has become significantly worse. I often feel a popping followed by a sharp pain in the anterior shoulder. i fear I may have ruptured the biceps tendon and understand this is a difficult recovery. I am a nurse and hope to return to work within 2 months. any advice?
    REPLY     Quote     Top     Bottom    
 05/21/2005 08:36 AM

Author Icon
gymrat014

I just had a labrum/ligament repair in my right (Dominant) arm on June 21, 2004. The labrum and a ligament were reatached to the bone with an anchor in the front of my shoulder, and I had a flap tear in the back of the labrum that was stiched back together. I started having "squeaking" sounds about a week post-op, but they only occurred sporatically. Now 3 weeks post-op, the "squeaking" occurs at least 20 x's a day, but there is not a specific movement that causes or allows me to reproduce the noise. There is no pain associated with the "squeaking" , just an odd feeling when it occurs. I told my therapist today, and she did not have a clue what I was talking about. I am glad to see that others are having the same issues with their shoulder that I am. The therapist made me feel embarrased when I told her my shoulder was "squeaking." Now I won't be so hesitant to mention this to my doctor when I go back in a month because I know that others are having the same problem. Thanks for the help. Any additional advice.
 05/21/2005 08:35 AM

Author Icon
ABICHE